An Old Door

Our home is an open floor plan which I love because it is perfect for entertaining.  However, having such an open floor plan can also be challenging when decorating.  All the colors have to flow and the theme needs to be consistent.  Not easy!

The most challenging room downstairs to decorate was the living room.  We added a stone fireplace in the center of the room as a focal point, which we love, but, where should the television go?  There really is only one wall to put a television…but the wall is GINORMOUS!  It wouldn’t matter if we put a 100,000 inch television on that wall, it would still look small and very lonely.

I searched everywhere on the internet for ideas on decorating a large wall with a television.  Everything was a bit modern for my taste.  Finally, I stumbled upon a pin on Pinterest of old doors that were repurposed with sconces that were placed behind bedroom night stands.

I thought this was such a neat idea and totally worked with the concept I was going for in my house.  So off to Habitat for Humanity I went…

I found a used folding laundry door – two for one, cha-ching!

Then I went to Lowes and found “crackle paint” by Valspar.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Supplies:

  • Valspar Weathered Crackle Glaze
  • Valspar Paint for Base Coat (I used a deep chocolate-brown in a high gloss)
  • Valspar FLAT Paint for Top Coat (I used a cream color in flat)
  • Small Paint Rollers
  • Small Paint Tray for Rollers
  • Paint Brush
  • Sandpaper
  • 2 Doors

Since I bought a laundry door which is technically two doors put together, I took them apart with an electric drill.  Then I lightly sanded both doors, just enough to get a light dusting off the top.  This shouldn’t take more than thirty minutes.  Make sure you use a lawn blower to get the remaining dust/sand particles off the doors before you paint – sounds redneck but it totally works…

Base Coat:  Once the doors are clean and free of dust, you are ready to add your base coat of paint.  I used a dark high gloss to give more definition to the doors.  Whatever you choose as this color is what will show through when the top coat crackles.  It’s easiest to use a small roller to paint the flat parts of the door.  For the groves, use a paint brush.  Let the paint dry over night.  Make sure the paint is 100% dry before moving to the next step.

Crackle Glaze:  For the next step, make sure you have a couple of hours to spare because you will want to keep an eye on the crackle glaze.  For this step, it is best to only use a paint brush.  Before you apply the crackle glaze, you will want to determine if you like larger crackles or smaller crackles.  This decision will determine how much crackle glaze to apply.  I chose larger crackles.

Apply the crackle glaze generously all over the doors.  For larger crackles, apply a generous amount of glaze.  For smaller crackles, apply a small amount of glaze.  Let the crackle glaze dry for 1-2 hours.  The key is to let the crackle glaze dry just enough.  It should feel rubbery to touch but not like dry paint.

Top Coat:  Once the crackle glaze has dried just enough, it is time to apply the top coat.  For this step, it is critical to use FLAT paint.  I am not really sure why but that is what the instructions said…so just go with it!  Use a small paint roller for the flat parts of the doors and a paint brush for the grooves.  This step is tricky and may take a little trial and error.  The only way to mess this part up is to apply to much paint.

Apply a thin layer of paint to the doors.  You will want to work fast because the top coat will start crackling immediately.  Let the doors dry over night.

Now the fun part…shopping for door knobs!  I went to a local antique store and found old crystal dresser knobs.  I figured this would work well.  I went to the fair grounds here in Raleigh in search of actual door knobs with the lock and didn’t have much luck.  So I settled with the dresser knobs.

Mounting the knobs to the doors was super easy because the laundry doors I bought already had knobs.  I removed the existing knobs and replaced with the crystal dresser knobs.

Now, time for the final touches!  The sconces!!  My mom gave these sconces to me for my Birthday this past summer and I was struggling with a place in the house to mount them.  They were the perfect addition to these old crackled doors.  I decided to mount them more towards the top of the doors, rather than dead center.  This is a personal preference.  Mark the location and drill a hole with a drill bit (smaller than the nail/screw you use for a tighter fit).

Hanging the doors took some creativity.  I used picture hooks at the top two corners of each door.  You can purchase these at Lowes.  Go ahead and hang the doors without the sconces with the picture hooks.  Now, remove the doors from the wall.  Then, I used a super long screw (maybe 5 inches) and wall anchors in the place that I made a hole for the sconces.  So, essentially, the long screw should go through the doors and into the wall, leaving a little bit of screw to actually hang the sconces on the doors.  Anyways, the goal here is the secure the doors to the wall and also provide support for the sconces.  Sorry if this is super confusing.  I can provide more detail if you decide to make these faux vintage doors!

I am really happy with how these turned out!  I think the doors are the perfect amount of decoration to fill the GINORMOUS wall without being too much.

For obvious safety reasons, I used electric candles that you can switch on for fun.  These candles last longer and will not cause a fire if you forget to blow them out.  You can purchase these at Target.

4 thoughts on “An Old Door

  1. Pingback: A Palette Project And A Mudroom | going home

  2. Pingback: Another Before and After: The Fireplace | going home

Leave a Reply

