Homemade Roman Shades & Cornice Boards

Beware: This is an easy project if you know how to operate a sewing machine, however, this is time-consuming.  But OH so worth it!  Be prepared to do a little bit of sewing and a LOT of ironing.  Enjoy!

Even though we live in the sticks and are completely surrounded by woods, we still felt the need to cover all doors and windows to have a little more privacy.  In our old house, we had a break in and we do not take this subject lightly…but this is for another blog post.

We have three back doors, all of which have a full length window.  I like the idea of windows in doors but you can see straight into the house at night and you can tell if no one is home.  I love blinds but not for full windowed doors!

One of my closest girlfriends made no-sew roman shades that turned out really nice!  I really liked this idea so I thought I would copy this concept for my back doors.  So off to Joannes fabric I went.  I found a thicker fabric on super sale which made this project even more fun!

If you are interested in making these for your house, here is the Pinterest tutorial I followed (brought to you by 33 Shades of Green).

Here are the materials you need for this project:

  • Fabric (follow the blog for measurements – obviously for a window door, you will need a lot more fabric)
  • Fabric Lining
  • Wood Dowels
  • Nylon Cord
  • Eye Screws
  • Small Plastic Rings (I had a hard time finding these…I found the at a Fabric store)
  • Angle Brackets for Mounting
  • Staple Gun
  • 1 x 6 Wood
  • Foam
  • A Hook to tie up the shades with

Here are my Roman Shades!

…and when they are up!

I had some left over fabric that I used for a couple other things such as pillows and Cornice Boards!!!  After I hung the Roman Shades, I noticed something was missing at the top to hide the fact that these were indeed homemade.  The answer was simple  – A Cornice Board!  This is the easiest part of this entire project…

All you need is fabric, some wood, a few LONG nails, an electric drill, a stable gun and foam.  For this project, I used 1 x 6 wood and had Lowe’s cut to the width of my windows.  Make sure you cut the width slightly longer than the window itself because you will have two smaller pieces of wood, one on each side to support the board.  I had Lowe’s cut the same 1 x 6 piece of wood into two 2 inch pieces.

Find steps for creating Cornice Boards here (brought to you by diynetwork.com).

Here is a close-up of the Cornice Board on my Roman Shades.

Instead of curtains, I decided to make a Cornice Board for the window in my Mud Room too.  I am so happy with how this turned out!

4 thoughts on “Homemade Roman Shades & Cornice Boards

  1. Those shades came out very nice! I love it. Learning to use a sewing machine is on my list of things to do. I can just think of all the things I could make if I knew how to sew! I see used sewing machines at Restore all the time. Would you suggest a brand new machine, or is an older used one just as good?

    • Hey Girl! I would say a used one is perfectly fine just make sure it works and comes with the instruction manual. The instruction manual will show you how to thread the machine if the machine doesn’t have clear labels. If you don’t thread the machine correctly it will jam all the time which is extremely frustrating! Good luck. A sewing machine will open up a whole new world of crafting for you 💋

  2. Pingback: Another Before and After: The Fireplace | going home

Leave a Reply

