Replacing Door Knobs & Hinges…The “Easy” Way!

Our house came with those old, out-dated bronze door hardware that I desperately wanted to change.  A couple of things to note about updating door hardware…

  1. Door knobs are significantly cheaper online, even if you have a Lowe’s or Home Depot coupon!  I saved $5 per knob on this website.  Click HERE to find the website I ordered my knobs from.
  2. Hinges must be the exact/correct size…it’s better not to guess.  Bring an existing hinge to Lowe’s or Home Depot to figure out the size you need…this will save you a lot of time and frustration!
  3. Bed & Bath means that the knobs come with a lock.  Hall & Closet means that the knobs do not come with a lock.

Replacing all hardware on existing doors is so much easier than it seems.  To install knobs, follow the directions that comes with the set.  The directions are super easy and once you get the hang of it, you will be able to replace a knob within 5-10 minutes.

QUICK TIP:  When installing a door knob, always put the door plate on first.  This is the piece that catches the closing and locking mechanism on the door knob.   Next, install the actual door knob…but only enough to test that the door will close properly with the door plate you initially installed.  This trick will save you a lot of headaches and time because sometimes the alignment of the door plate and door knob closing and locking mechanism is not 100% – causing issues with opening and closing the door!

Here is the “door plate” I was talking about…

Here is an example of the old bronze hardware before I replaced with oil rubbed bronze.

Now…let’s talk about Hinges!

Have you ever picked up a door?  They are extremely heavy.  I consider myself pretty strong but I am not sure I can not man-handle a door by myself…nor would I want to.  Have you tried lining up the door and hinges?  This should not be rocket science but it is really not easy and certainly takes two people…one to hold the door and the other to fiddle with the hinges to line them up properly…what a pain in the butt!

I have GREAT news…there is a much simpler way to do this and without a man.  Check it out.  Drum-roll pllllleeeeaaaasssssseeeeeee!!!!!!

Replace the hinges one at a time, starting with the middle hinge…brilliant!  My husband is the brains of the family…I can’t take credit for that one!  I will remain the creative one.

Here are pictures to demonstrate how easy this is…

After you replace the middle hinge, replace the top and bottom hinge…one at a time of course!

TA DAAAAAAA!!

It is that easy!

Leave a Reply

