Holiday Banners Homemade

The holidays are super crazy and even crazier when you are sick!  I am finally starting to feel more like myself so back to blogging I go…

Last weekend, a friend and I threw a Baby Shower for a very dear friend of ours.  Due to the proximity to Christmas, we decided to make the shower a Christmas shower!  I spent countless hours on etsy.com looking for Holiday banners to decorate for the shower and then it dawned on me…why wouldn’t I make my own, customized to the theme of the shower?  Duh…so off to the craft section in Walmart I go…

All you need to accomplish this project is:

  • Construction Paper
  • Letter Stencils
  • Hole Puncher
  • Scissors OR Paper Cutter
  • A Black Marker
  • A Glue Stick
  • Ribbon

…and TIME!

This project is self explanatory and super easy!

Step 1:  Cut white construction paper to 5 x 3 pieces for the letters that you will trace from the stencils.  The number of pieces is entirely up to you…whatever phrase you choose!

DSC_0810

Step 2:  Trace letters from stencils onto construction paper.  Color in letters with a black marker.

TIP: A sharpe marker will give a darker black result!

DSC_0811

Step 3:  Use a glue stick to glue paper with letters onto another sheet of construction paper (choose a color that is contrasting).  Using your paper cutter or scissors, cut around the paper, creating a border.  See below…

DSC_0812

Step 3:  Repeat Step 2 but with another piece of construction paper (choose a color that is contrasting).  Use a hole puncher to put holes in the top two corners of each letter.  String together letters with ribbon.

DSC_0814

DSC_0817

Here is a banner that I made for the Baby Shower!

photo

Here is a banner that I made for my house!  Enjoy!!!

DSC_0818

2 thoughts on “Holiday Banners Homemade

Leave a Reply

