We are Pregnant!!!!

I am SOOOO excited to announce that we are expecting our first baby!  I am finally going to be a Mommy and I am thrilled!

My husband and I found out that we were pregnant the day before Thanksgiving.  I woke up around 7AM and decided to take a pregnancy test.  Given that I have never been pregnant before, I took the test and immediately I saw a single pink line…I guess I am not pregnant.  Try again next month, right?  Disappointed, I crawled back into bed and slept for a couple more hours.  I rolled my lazy self out of bed and started getting ready for the day.  Something told me to grab that pregnancy test out of the trash to make sure it was still negative.  I just HAD to be 150% sure.  To my surprise, there was a strong pink line and a super faint pink line.  I rubbed my eyes and did a double take…SAY WHAT?  OH.MY.GOSH.  I am pregnant.  My dumb self waited an entire 30 seconds previously to determine it was not positive.  Note to self…a pregnant test could take up to 3 minutes to show positive.  Noted!

Positive Test

My husband was still asleep so I crawled into bed next to him and whispered in his ear, “Baby, you’re going to be a daddy!”  My husband sprang out of bed like a cat jacked up on mountain dew and shouted, “NAH UH…ARE YOU SERIOUS?”  We were SOOO excited!  We are going to be parents!

Okay, so I am pregnant, what do I do now?  I texted my best girlfriends and asked what in the world do I do now?  TAKE ANOTHER TEST SILLY!  Duh….why didn’t I think of that?  So I took another test and sure enough, after waiting 3 minutes, I had two pink lines.  I couldn’t wait to tell my closest friends and family.

A few weeks went by and everything seemed normal.  The holidays were approaching so the Christmas shopping, wrapping presents and decorating the house was on my agenda.  …and then…6 weeks hit!  “Morning Sickness,” aka ALL DAY SICKNESS went into full swing.  I felt like I was dying…not even exaggerating!  The nausea started getting worse and worse.  I had my confirmation Dr. appointment scheduled at 7 weeks but I couldn’t wait that long.  I couldn’t get out of bed and didn’t want to eat anything.  So I decided to call my Dr.’s office and beg for something, anything, ANYTHING that would make this awful sickness go away.  Thank you JESUS for my dear friend, zofran.  It took the edge off the nausea and made me function-able, kinda, again!  Thank God for being retired.  I have a newfound respect for women that go through extreme nausea in their first trimester and work a full-time job.  God Bless you Women!  You are my hero!

A few things I learned along the way that I would like to share for those of you who also struggle with morning sickness…

  1.  Keep an entire tube of Saltine Crackers with you at all times…trust me…when the sickness starts to come on, these will save your life…
  2. ALWAYS keep Saltine Crackers or a granola bar next to your bed….every night!  Frequent trips to the restroom every night is inevitable…nibble on a few crackers every time you get up to use the restroom.  This will help you in the morning when you wake up as your stomach will have a little something something on it at all times.
  3. Nibble on a few Saltine Crackers when you wake up for the day BEFORE you get out of bed.  Take your time getting out of bed…trust me this seriously works.  This process should take about 30 minutes every morning.
  4. Not a napper?  You will be…take a nap in the afternoon because not only are you exhausted in your first trimester, the naps will help with the nausea.
  5. Drink Ginger Ale or Lemonade to ward off nausea…it helps!
  6. ZOFRAN…this anti-nausea medicine will save your life!  Eat it like candy!
  7. Taco Bell’s bean burritos saved my life.  Protein is key which can be extremely challenging when your food aversions are strongest with meats!  I can’t eat meat at the moment.  Beans are loaded with protein and will give you some strength.
  8. CARBS, CARBS, CARBS!  You are in survival mode so eat what you can.  Everything will sound nasty to you.  Bagels, bread, cheese pizza, cereal, bread and bread and…did I mention bread?  Seriously, this may be the only thing you can eat for a while.
  9. Yogurt, eggs and fruit!  I am able to eat this…at least it is some nutrition!
  10. Cry – You will cry because you feel so sick and sometimes cry for no apparent reason.  Sometimes a good cry just makes you feel better…Hey, I will cry with you too!
 My husband and I had our first prenatal visit, the confirmation ultrasound at 7 weeks.  We were so excited!  We be-bopped our way into the Dr.’s office all giddy and ready to see the baby for the first time.  Before the nurse could get any words out…”Hi I am pregnant.”  I couldn’t hold it back!  Now, Ultrasound time.  There is nothing more incredible than seeing your baby for the first time.  It is now real…and…we saw it’s little heartbeat.  What a special moment.  We were so excited.
Here is our little peanut at 7 weeks!
7 Weeks
Today, we had our second prenatal visit.  My husband and I couldn’t wait to see our baby again.  I am 10 weeks.  The baby is barely the size of a kumquat (which is a really small orange…I totally had to google that one) and measures a little over an inch long.  Our baby has completed the most critical portion of development and is entering into the fetal period.  The heartbeat measured just under 160 bpm and is looking good.
Here is our little peanut at 10 weeks!
10 Weeks
 Here is Baby Olds sucking his/her finger….to cute!
Baby Finger
Lastly, I wanted to share thing book that I read.  A dear friend of mine sent this to me in the mail.  It is full of “what to expect” experiences and is incredibly funny!  When you have one of those days that you can’t get out of bed, read this book and you are guaranteed to laugh out loud.  Thanks girl, this book is amazing!!
Belly Laughs
4 thoughts on “We are Pregnant!!!!

  1. Yay, so excited for you both! I was wondering when the news would hit the blog. 🙂 So are you still feeling 95% normal with the Zofran? It’s funny how your body craves things in the first trimester – I also loved salt. 🙂 Can’t wait to hear if it’s a girl or a boy! When we will see any baby bump photos?

    • Hey Girl! We couldn’t wait to announce it any longer! To excited! The first day I took zofran, it knocked my nausea out mostly. BUT…there are days zofran doesn’t touch it! Bottom line, you have your good and bad days. Some days you just lay around all day. Some days you feel great! Although, I feel like every time I have a good day, I pay for it the next day lol! My body is like omg what is happening lol! We will get through it! This to shall pass! Right?

      • I think it’s interesting how nausea affects some women and not others. I had ALL Day sickness too when I was 2-3 weeks pregnant, so I was sick for all of October and all of November. That’s like 61 days!

        Can’t wait to see what you come up with for a nursery! Let’s talk soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

