Fabulously Old-Fashioned!

Hey Guys – my blog is still alive, I promise!  It’s been a while because life has been incredibly busy taking down Christmas decorations outside!  I KNOW I KNOW this is so tacky but seriously we have had no time…and I am waiting on a few finishing touches before I share other rooms in the house!  I can’t wait to post before and after’s of our master bedroom and bathrooms!  Stay tuned!

One of my favorite things to do is find local thrift stores, go to Goodwill or stop by the Pittsboro ReStore (Habitat for Humanity).  Simply because, you never know what you may find… I have been doing this a lot lately and have found a few treasures.  Sometimes you won’t find a single thing and other times, you may hit the jackpot.  With Habitat, I usually consult with my friend Pinterest before I set out to find whatever…usually an old window or door or something of this nature.  Here are a few treasures that I recently found!

Image

The weathered wrought iron thing on the left…I bought two of these from the Flea Market.  I am obsessed with these guys and plan to hang behind each night stand in our master bedroom (pictures to come).  The bird house made out of reclaimed wood, an old license plate and old hose – I bought three of these guys from the Flea Market and plan to hang on the wall in our powder room.  This room is almost complete and then I will share pictures!  The fabulous old crystal lights on the bottom right – this is my favorite find so far…  This is actually one light with two pendants that I haven’t decided 100% where I will put in the house.  A few ideas; in the powder room with the bird houses or in the future nursery?

Image

This old guy is an ugly green color…BUT it is wrought iron.  All it needs is a little spray paint and BOOM – he is contemporary!  The thrift store only had one of these guys, not a pair but no problemo…the sconce is large and in charge and will dominate a smaller wall so no need for two.  Add melted candlesticks and this guy is ready to be hung!  I’ll post pictures of everything once they are placed around the house.

If you like to go “antiquing” or “thrifting,” there are a few places that I recommend in the Apex/Pittsboro area.  I am sure there are more places that I have yet to discover…please feel free to share if you have a favorite place to shop.

  • Beggars and Choosers in Downtown Pittsboro
  • Antique Shops in Downtown Pittsboro (main strip)
  • Flea Market in Downtown Pittsboro (next to the Pittsboro Road House aka General Store)
  • Antique Shop in Downtown Apex
  • Habitat for Humanity in Pittsboro
  • Goodwill (Apex off hwy 55)
  • Flea Market at the Raleigh Fair Grounds (Saturday and Sunday)

Or…you could always raid your grandma’s attic or even the dumpster… I have done this before and I am not ashamed!

2 thoughts on “Fabulously Old-Fashioned!

Leave a Reply

